Week 2

This week was a little rocky to start off. Monday I had a test and then a 4 hour lab since we are about to start surgery. But today I’m doing my workout at home since there are a few exercises that I don’t need weights for.

Day 1 – 1/28/2020
– Lunges (unweighted): 4 sets x 8 reps
– Push-ups (on knees): 4 sets x 8 reps
– Bent over rows: 4 sets x 15 reps, using 5lb weights
– Hip raises: 3 sets x 10 reps, using 10 lbs
– Leg raises: 4 sets x 8 reps

Side note: working out at home is hard when you have two dogs that want to be in your business.
I’m glad I am still sticking to my plan about working out every week. I’m sure if I didn’t work out today, I would’ve skipped tomorrow and the next day.

Day 2 – 1/30/2020
– Squats: 65# 2 sets x 8 reps, 90# 2 sets x 8 reps, 115# 1 set x 8 reps
– Deadlifts: 65# 4 sets x 8 reps
– Overhead press: 10#/arm 3 sets x 8 reps
– Bicep curls with switch in direction on the way down: 10#/arm 3 sets x 8 reps
– Delts: 25# 3 sets x 8 reps per side
– Lat Pulls: 55# 3 sets x 10 reps
– Exercise ball crunches: 8# 4 sets x 8 reps

Today’s exercises really only took me like 45 minutes total. I went right before lunch which was ideal since Ramsey (our gym at school) gets VERY busy during and after lunch. I was able to increase the weight on my squats while maintaining form. I increased the number of reps per set on my dead lifts. Last week I just did 6 reps per set and I was getting tired. This week I was able to do 8 reps! I love seeing progress like that. I added some more arm exercises that were simple and small movements to isolate certain muscle groups. I did it since I was waiting for the squat rack in one room but luckily I went to the other lifting room and was able to get a rack without a wait. I didn’t run because I needed to get back to the CVM for class at 1pm. It feels great now that I’ve done my workout for the day and can focus on studying when I get home.

Day 3 – 1/31/2020
– Triangle squats: 25# 4 sets x 8 reps
– Hip raises: 25# 3 sets x 10 reps
– Inclined press: 12.5# 3 sets x 10 reps
– Inclined chest press?: 12.5# 3 sets x 10 reps
– Triceps: 22.5# 3 sets x 10 reps
– Planks: 3 sets of whole body and each side

Definitely had a moment of should I do this today. It’s gross and raining today. But I went to the gym and did my workout. It only took me about 35 mins to complete everything! I was able to increase the weight on my arm exercises and felt better about holding the planks. The triangle squats were easier to do than last week.

I’m proud of myself that this is the second week that I’ve gone to the gym!

Published by kaylan diane

29 | she/her | perpetually tired vet student

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started